NewsCase StudiesEvents

Changes To USA Waiver Visa Application

Also in the news...

Are The New Import Embargos Of Big Importance?

Yes, they are. On August 6 and 7, Russia reacted to the sectorial EU-sanctions with an embargo on the import of food and agricultural products from the EU, USA, Norway, Canada and Australia.

195 Countries - Where to Go First? Introducing Winning Globally Chapter 2

In July, we released the first chapter of Winning Globally

Opportunities for UK oil and gas companies in Africa

UKTIís event in Glasgow during the Commonwealth Games highlighted support available to help UK business access export opportunities in east and west Africa.

Notice to Exporters

Russia added to prohibited destinations for certain licences

Accelerated Market access in sub-Sahara Africa for your company

Meet us in the UK and Germany in September 2014 for a non-binding consultation, InterGest South Africa is heading on a road-show to the UK and Germany.

Changes To USA Waiver Visa Application

Back to News

People wanting authorisation to enter the United States of America under the visa waiver scheme will have to do so electronically.


As from today, January 12 2009, people wanting authorisation to enter the United States of America under the visa waiver scheme will have to do so electronically. They can do this by visiting Electronic System for Travel Authorisation (ESTA) website.

The Customs and Borders Protection Office at the US Embassy announced that currently 3,700 Britons are applying every day. Applicants may find they have trouble securing their visa. It is recommended, therefore, that those applying for visas do so at least three days (72 hours) ahead of their planned visit, with the necessary information to hand. This includes the standard details of name, date of birth, reason of visitation and address of US accommodation. Also required will be details, if applicable, about criminal records, previous visa revocations or deportation, and communicable diseases.

Applicants not in line with the requirements will be dealt with reasonably, but those that have not registered for an ESTA need to acknowledge the possibility of denied boarding, delayed processing, or even outright refusal of admission.

What follows is the complete list of countries included in the Visa Waiver Programme:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Holland
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

You are not logged in!

Please login or register to ask our experts a question.

Login now or register.