NewsCase StudiesEvents

Startup Overseas Forums

New thread

Start a New Online Business in Netherlands

#1 May 25 2016 4:06pm

Start a New Online Business in Netherlands

Dear everybody,
I'm a Vietnamese student and I come to Holland for higher education. In this time, I have an idea related to online business. However, I do not know how to answer some questions below:
- Do I have to change my visa (student visa) to a new visa (for working permit)?
- Does this adjustment affect to my study in university?
- How much money the registration of business will cost me?
Thank you so much for reading and I hope to see any answer here.
Best regards,
Kiem Le

Dear everybody, I'm a Vietnamese student and I come to Holland for higher education. In this time, I have an idea related to online business. However, I do not know how to answer some questions below: - Do I have to change my visa (student visa) to a new visa (for working permit)? - Does this adjustment affect to my study in university? - How much money the registration of business will cost me? Thank you so much for reading and I hope to see any answer here. Best regards, Kiem Le
Reply Reply with quote

#2 Jun 1 2016 1:08pm

Re: Start a New Online Business in Netherlands

Hi Kiem Le,

I just had a look at the Dutch immigration authority's page on student visas. It appears that your visa limits you to ten hours of employment per week, for which your employer (in this case your registered business) would have to have a work permit for you. More information is at this link: https://ind.nl/EN/individuals/residence-wizard/study/higher-education-and-university

Between the cost of registering your business and applying for the work permit authorisation (which can only be done in Dutch), it may not be worthwhile setting up your online business while you remain in the Netherlands.